Alexa Varady and Jackson Young receive Undergraduate Research Awards

Alexa Varady and Jackson Young receive Undergraduate Research Awards

August 30, 2013

LAWRENCE – Twenty-one University of Kansas students will receive Undergraduate Research Awards (UGRAs) to support their research projects this fall.

"Students who receive the Undergraduate Research Award represent some of the best student scholarship on the Lawrence campus," said John Augusto, director of the Center for Undergraduate Research. "These students have mentors who invest a lot of time training them, and the mentors’ work comes through when you read the students’ proposals."

Recipients will receive $1,000 to support their respective research projects. The Undergraduate Research Awards are funded by a partnership between the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the Office of Research and Graduate Studies, and the Office of the Provost. Applicants wrote a four-page research proposal with the assistance of their research mentor. Recipients of the award were selected on the merit of the applicant's proposal, the applicant's academic record and the recommendation from a faculty member who is familiar with the applicant and the proposed project.

Alexa Varady, junior majoring in mathematics and computer science; Blue Valley High School; "Statistical Estimation of Scattered Memory Processes," a research project aimed at finding a new, more efficient model for the memory structure of stochastic processes; research mentor: Zsolt Talata, mathematics.

Jackson Young, sophomore majoring in physics and mathematics; Olathe North High School; "X-Ray Studies Of The Pixel Readout for the CMS Detector," a project to conduct X-ray studies of pixel readout modules for the 2016 upgrade of CMS silicon tracker detector at the University of Kansas; research mentor: Alice Bean, physics.

University Press Link:

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years