KU Students Win Statewide Math Competition

KU Students Win Statewide Math Competition

April 11, 2014 – For Immediate Release
Contact: Gloria Prothe, gprothe@ku.edu, 785-864-3651
Department of Mathematics

LAWRENCE—University of Kansas undergraduate students took first and second place in the team competition as well as individual awards at the ninth Kansas Collegiate Math Competition, which was March 29 at Emporia State University. The competition is part of the yearly meeting of the Kansas section of the Mathematical Association of America.

Students work individually for three hours on five challenging math problems, which are then graded by coaches.

First place team members were Bridget Davis, a senior in computer science and mathematics, Ryan Endres, a senior in aerospace engineering, and Grace Garrison, a senior in aerospace engineering.

Second place team members were Cliff Oswald, a senior in engineering physics and aerospace systems, Dave Stephens, a senior in mathematics, and Kailey Zvosec, a junior in mathematics.

Oswald was first place individual and received a $300 award. Endres tied for second place individual and received a $200 award.

Mathew Johnson, KU assistant professor of mathematics, was the KU coach and co-organized with Jeremy Wade, assistant professor of mathematics at Pittsburg State University, the intercollegiate competition portion of the program.

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years