Winners of KU Math Prize Competition

April 30, 2016

Winners of KU Math Prize Competition

LAWRENCE—The 34rd Annual KU Math Prize Competition sponsored by the Department of Mathematics was held April 13. The competition is open to all undergraduates at the University of Kansas. The written exam for each level covers six questions that must be completed in three hours. Cash awards were presented at the department's honors banquet on April 26.

The junior-level is open to all undergraduates of non-senior standing and assumes a knowledge of first year calculus. The winners of the junior-level are:

First place: Xiangyu Li, a freshman undecided major from Shandong, China. Li also was the top first-year student.
Second place: Zachary Bruennig, a sophomore in computer science from Overland Park.
Third place: Spencer Dang, a junior in chemistry from Shawnee.

The senior-level is open to all undergraduates and covers a range of standard topics of undergraduate math. The winners of the senior-level are:

First place: Daniel Knight, a senior in mathematics from Lawrence.
Second place: Paul Goodwin, a junior in mathematics from Olathe.
Third place: Peter Bradshaw, a senior in mathematics from Shawnee.

Hailong Dao and Yasuyuki Kachi, associate professors of mathematics, were in charge of the competition.

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years