Mat Johnson awarded Morrison Foundation Teaching Award

May 01, 2016

Mat Johnson awarded Morrison Foundation Teaching Award

Mat Johnson, assistant professor of mathematics, received the 2016 Morrison Foundation Teaching Award. This award was established in 2008 by the Don and Pat Morrison Foundation to recognize outstanding teaching in mathematics. The Department of Mathematics selects a recipient each year in recognition of exemplary teaching and an ongoing active research program.

Johnson completed his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He came to KU in 2011 and will be promoted to associate professor this fall. Before KU he served as the Max Zorn Postdoctoral Fellow and the NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at Indiana University. His research interests include stability theory for nonlinear partial differential equations, and spectral theory for differential operators. His research is supported by the National Science Foundation. He received the department's G. Bailey Price award for excellence in teaching in 2014, the 2015 Outstanding Honors Class award by the KU Honors Program, and the 2015 SIAM Activity Group on Analysis of Partial Differential Equations prize for the most outstanding paper.

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years