Faculty Directory: Rodolfo H. Torres

Faculty Directory


Rodolfo H. Torres

  • University Distinguished Professor and Associate Vice Chancellor for Research & Graduate Studies
  • Office: 546 Snow Hall
  • Phone: (785) 864-7310
  • Fax: (785) 864-5255
  • E-Mail: torres@ku.edu
  • Web-page

Research Interests

Harmonic Analysis
Partial Differential Equations
Signal Analysis

Prof. Torres works in Fourier analysis. He is interested in singular integrals, Calderón-Zygmund theory, multilinear operators, function spaces, and discrete decompositions such as wavelets. Fourier analysis is a mathematical tool that permits the decomposition of a signal into a combination of oscillating waves of different frequencies and amplitudes, very much in the same way that a prism separates a beam of light into a rainbow of colors of different wavelengths. This analysis decodes information present in the signal and provides a precise mechanism to quantify oscillations, sudden changes, patterns, and symmetries in the data. Applications of Torres' theoretical research include partial differential equations and signal analysis. He has also done contributions in the spectral analysis of coloration in nanostructured biological tissues.

Selected Publications

  • Modulation invariant bilinear T(1) theorem (with A. Bényi, C. Demeter, A.R. Nahmod, C.M. Thiele, and F. Villarroya), J. Anal. Math., 109 (2009), 279-352.
  • New maximal functions and multiple weights for the multilinear Calderón-Zygmund theory (with A Lerner, S. Ombrosi, C. Pérez and R. Trujillo-González), Adv. Math. 220 (2009), no. 4, 1222--1264.
  • Multilinear Calderón-Zygmund Theory (with L. Grafakos), Adv. Math. 165 (2002), 124-164.
  • Coherent light scattering by blue bird feather barbs (with Prum, R. O., Williamson, S., and Dyck, J), Nature 396 (1998), 28-29.
  • A boundary integral method for parabolic equations in nonsmooth domains (with V. Adolfsson and B. Jawerth), Comm. Pure Appl. Math., 47 (1994), 861-892.
  • Boundedness results for operators with singular kernels on distribution spaces, Memoirs of the AMS, No. 442, 1991.

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years