MATH 791 - Modern Algebra

Professor: Hai Long Dao

Email: hdao@math.ku.edu

Meeting time: MWF 2:00 pm-2:50 pm in 302 Snow Hall

Office Hours: 1:00pm-2:00pm MW, 10:00-11:00am Tuesday or by appointments (625 Snow Hall)

Text: "Abstract Algebra" (third edition), by I. N. Herstein.

Syllabus

Messages

Assignments

Resources

Important Dates


Messages

  1. Hello! Welcome to Math 791 website. Note that the first HW was already posted below!

  2. The first midterm will be on Friday Feb 21, in class. There will be a review class on Wed Feb 19.

  3. Some solutions for the graded problems from HW 2 and 3 are here .

  4. The second midterm will be on March 31, in class. It will cover 2.7 to 2.11 and 4.1 to 4.5. The Friday class will be devoted to review for this midterm. There will be no HW due on that week.

  5. There will be no class on Friday April 4, make-up class will be announced later. There will be no HW due on Monday April 8, the next HW will be due on Monday April 15.

  6. The final exam will be take-home. Here is the early version (a couple more problems may be added later). It is due at midnight May 16 or before (either on paper on electronically). As it is take-home, extra care should be given to the presentation of your solutions.






Assignments

Homeworks are due ever week, usually at the beginning of Monday classes (Note: no late homework will be accepted).
  1. Homework 1 (due Monday Jan 27): Read Sections 1-4 of chapter 1. Do the following problems:1,3,6 page 13; 10,20 page 14,15; 6,9,10 page 19, 12 page 20.

  2. Homework 2 (due Monday February 3): 1,2,3,4,5,6,9,13, 21 page 46-47; 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 page 54-55.

  3. Homework 3 (due Monday February 10. NOTE: because of the disruptions caused by weather this week and by popular demand, the HW is now due on WED Feb 12. On the other hand, I added more problems to make it normal length!): 8,15,19 page 55-56; 1,2,3,4,7,8,9,11,12,13,14,15 page 63-64.

  4. Homework 4 (due Monday February 17): 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,10 page 73-4; 3,4,6,10,11,15 page 83-4.

  5. Homework 5 (due Monday February 24): 1(should read Theorem 2.7.4),2,3,4,5,6,7 page 87-8.

  6. Homework 6 (due Monday March 3): 2,3,4,8,9 page 91-2; 2,5 page 96.

  7. Homework 7 (due Monday March 10): 1 to 11 page 106.

  8. Homework 8 (due Wednesday March 26): 4,5 page 133, 3,5,8 page 139, 4,5,6,9,11,12 page 146.

  9. Homework 9 (due Monday April 14): 3,10,11,13 page 163-4, 1,2,3,4,5 page 171, 2 page 175.

  10. Homework 10 (due Monday April 21): 4,7,9,10 page 179, 1,2,3,4,5 page 197, 1 page 201.

  11. Homework 11 (due Monday April 28): 2,4 page 207, 3,4,5,6,8,10 page 213.n (note: Final exam has been posted above!)

  12. Homework 12 (due Monday May 5): Find the number of configurations of the "silly Tic-tac-toe" game discussed in class (namely, players just fill the boards in turn until it is full) for the n-by-n board with n equal to 3,4,5.


    Resources

    Interesting links related to the topics of the course:

    Important Dates

     


    Home