KU Students Win Statewide Math Competition

Rodolfo Torres awarded Morrison Foundation Teaching Award

March 16, 2017


Rodolfo Torres, university distinguished professor of mathematics and associate vice chancellor for research and graduate studies, received the 2017 Morrison Foundation Teaching Award. This award was established in 2008 by the Don and Pat Morrison Foundation to recognize outstanding teaching in mathematics. The Department of Mathematics selects a recipient each year in recognition of exemplary teaching and an ongoing active research program.

Torres is one of the leading experts on the theoretical and applied aspects of harmonic analysis. His theoretical mathematical work is internationally recognized for its contributions to decomposition techniques and the study of singular integrals. He maintains a very active research career while also taking part in high-level service and leadership. Among his many activities, he has served as president of KU’s Faculty Senate and chaired the Mission and Integrity subcommittees for the recent Higher Learning Commission accreditation process at KU.

His teaching and mentoring have been recognized with multiple awards, including the G. Bailey Price Teaching in Graduate Mathematics Award from the KU Department of Mathematics and a William T. Kemper Excellence in Teaching Award. Torres earned a licenciatura in mathematics from Universidad Nacional de Rosario, Argentina; and a master’s degree and doctorate in mathematics from Washington University in St. Louis. He joined the KU faculty in 1996 after postdoctoral experiences at the University of Michigan, New York University and Washington University.

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years