KU Students Win Statewide Math Competition

April 07, 2015

KU Students Win Statewide Math Competition

LAWRENCE—University of Kansas undergraduate students took first and third place in the team competition at the tenth Kansas Collegiate Math Competition, which was March 28 at Fort Scott Community College. The competition is part of the yearly meeting of the Kansas section of the Mathematical Association of America.

This year's competition was team based, with students working together in groups of two or three to complete ten problems in three hours. Eleven teams from seven undergraduate institutions in Kansas took part. Cash awards will be given to KU's team members at the mathematics department's honors banquet on April 21.

First place team members were Grace Garrison, a senior in mathematics, Daniel Knight, a senior in mathematics and Cliff Oswald, a senior in engineering physics and aerospace systems.

Third place team members were Bridget Davis, a senior in computer science and mathematics, Yujie Deng, a senior in computer science and mathematics, and Andrei Elliot, a senior in computer science and mathematics.

Mathew Johnson, KU assistant professor of mathematics, was the KU coach and co-organized with Jeremy Wade, assistant professor of mathematics at Pittsburg State University, the intercollegiate competition portion of the program.

Recognition Ceremony Honors Employees’ Service

Congratulations to our faculty and staff who will be recognized at the 2017 Employee Recognition Ceremony for their years of service to KU.

Joseph Huber 10 years
Zsolt Talata 10 years
George Kangas 15 years
Milena Stanislavova 15 years
Atanas Stefanov 15 years
Erik Van Vleck 15 years
Yaozhoung Hu 20 years
Kerrie Brecheisen 30 years
Jeff Lang 30 years